top of page

What Is Multiple Sclerosis?

Multiple Sclerosis (MS) is a disease where the body's immune system attacks myelin. The myelin sheath is a fatty protective covering that surround the nerve fibers in the central nervous system. The central nervous system (CNS) is made up of the brain and spinal cord. When the sheath is damaged it disrupts communication between the brain and the rest of the body. Causes of multiple sclerosis are still unknown.

There are four different types of Multiple Sclerosis:

1).  Relapsing Remitting MS (RRMS)

2). Secondary Progressive MS (SPMS)

3). Primary Progressive MS (PPMS)

4). Progressive Relapsing MS (PRMS)



Symptoms of multiple sclerosis vary between patients and which nerves have been damaged. Symptoms may be mild, moderate, or severe.

Fairy Lights

Statistics & Diagnosis

Diagnosing Multiple Sclerosis can be tricky. There are various lab and physical tests that can be done to diagnose a patient. Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) of the brain and spine are used to check for lesions. Spinal taps or lumbar punctures are used along with MRIs for a more accurate diagnosis.


of patients are initially diagnosed with RRMS.


0f patients initially diagnosed with RRMS, worsen to SPMS.


0f patients are diagnosed with PPMS.


of patients are diagnosed with PRMS. It is the rarest form of MS.


The South Texas Multiple Sclerosis Council would not be possible without donations from the community. If you would like to donate to help the organization better the lives of people living with Multiple Sclerosis in the Rio Grande Valley, please click one of the "Donate Now" buttons below. Your tax deductible contribution is greatly appreciated!

Multiple Sclerosis: Price List

Get in Touch

3910 N. Bryan Rd. Palmhurst, TX 78473

Lucia Rivera, STMSC President 956-802-4290

  • facebook
  • instagram
bottom of page